en English
Carlos Sainz


spain flag

Carlos Sainz

Lando Norris


Great britan flag

Lando Norris


Full Team Name

McLaren F1 Team


Woking, United Kingdom

Team Chief

Andreas Seidl

Technical Chief

James Key



Power Unit


First Team Entry


World Championships


Highest Race Finish

1 (x182)

Pole Positions


Fastest Laps




The British motor racing company, McLaren, operates in England and is considered as the second most successful Formula 1 team in the history of F1. They are a team of individuals who are best described as constructors in the world of Formula 1. Their job is to work on a car’s engine, its chassis and design, help the drivers perform well during the races.

McLaren is Born

The team was originally founded by Bruce McLaren in 1963, a New Zealander who was fond of cars. Their first Grand Prix win arrived almost five years after its creation. However, that was not the only time they made it happen as we shall explore in a moment how they became so successful in Formula 1.

McLaren Blossoms

The first race McLaren entered was the Grand Prix 1966 Monaco Race. The race was not a success though because it lacked the engineering expertise that was required to win the Formula. An oil leak made their chances of winning the race almost nonexistent. To win a race as competitive as the Formula 1, the competitors need to be at the top of their game. Unfortunately for the McLaren team, the engines they used were not properly looked after and that caused a series of troubles amid the race. In a bet to win the race next year, McLaren installed a new BRM V12 engine. This time, due to another set of snags, the team did not experience much success. There were positives though. The team now knew what they needed to fix to be in the competition.

McLaren Wins


1974 was the year that McLaren won their first Formula one season. Among the factors bringing a major championship home for them was the change of engine to Ford Cosworth DFV 3.0 V8. Emerson Fittipaldi was the leading race car driver along with Denny Hulme, Mike Hailwood, David Hobbs, Jochen Mass. Together with the team they won the double Championship titles – Drivers Championship and Constructors Championship.


Formula 1 season of 1976 was not a complete success as it was limited to only winning the F1 Drivers Championship. The lead McLaren driver, James Hunt, won the Formula 1. This year’s season is quite famous for its controversies. The rivalry between James Hunt and Niki Lauda produced an appealing spectacle to watch ending with Hunt as the last man standing.


After almost ten years, McLaren drivers Alain Prost and Niki Lauda put in a great performance that would last in the history of Formula 1 forever. Much like the last driver Niki Lauda faced off against, Alain Prost gave Niki Lauda grave competition to take away the grand prize. The only difference this time was that both the drivers were on McLaren’s side. That had to automatically bring the Constructors trophy home for McLaren. This was the second time McLaren won double championships. Also, this was Niki Lauda’s last win as an F1 race car driver which he ended with style. The year has an additional importance attached to it given the fact that this was the smallest margin in the history of Formula One between two top drivers to win an F1 Championship – half a point.


The 39th season of Formula 1 was won by Alain Prost. He was coupled with two more drivers one of whom had history with him. Niki Lauda and John Watson drove for McLaren-TAG and they did so with John Watson driving for one round. Alain Prost won the Drivers championship by a margin of 23 points. Prost’s win was only made better with McLaren winning the Constructors championship for the second consecutive time. The double championship wins further glorified McLaren’s status in the Formula racing.


This year was no so lucky for the Constructor’s point of view. Although, it did produce some amazing performances from the driver, Alain Prost. Prost is known to be the first driver in a long time to win two consecutive Drivers Championships. The only driver who did it before was Jack Brabham back in 1960. McLaren’s second driver this time was Keke Rosberg, replacing the Niki Lauda. Filling in the great F1 driver Niki Lauda’s shoes was not going to be easy but he did well all things considered.


McLaren made a return to the top of the Formula 1 standings after two years. Their lead drivers this time were Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna, both ranked as two of the best in the formula racing. Ayrton Senna won the race to the surprise of many. Alain Prost proved to be an outstanding partner for Ayrton Senna. The more experienced and a sure winner like Alain pushed Ayrton to his limits until the very end of the race. The two drivers shared the top spot in many of the Grands Prix. People just couldn’t get enough of McLaren Senna partnership. This resulted in McLaren winning the Constructors Championship yet again.


The 1989 F1 season was the 43rd of its history. Alain Prost regained his title this year after losing to his partner from McLaren, Ayrton Senna, in the previous year. The two battled with each other once more and ended the race dominating the top two positions in the final Drivers Championship standings. It marked another successful year for McLaren who continued their run of winning Constructors Championship for the second consecutive year.


1990 F1 Championship season would turn out to be quite similar to the previous two seasons. McLaren would win the Constructors Championship. Similarly, Ayrton Senna would return to the top spot with his former partner Alain Prost joining team Scuderia Ferrari. Alain Prost finished second this season. McLaren was enjoying a decent run of form in these years.


The 45th season proved to be another regular season for McLaren who scored 139 points to secure the top spot on the Constructors Championship standings making them the team with four consecutive Constructors titles. As expected, Ayrton Senna won the Drivers Championship. It was Ayrton Senna’s third title with McLaren.


1998 took longer to arrive as McLaren had begun to lose their foothold in the first place of Formula 1 standings every year. In order to return to winning ways, they had to make a lot of departmental and engineering changes. Eventually, their efforts paid off. Mika Hakkinen was the lead driver of McLaren along with David Coulthard this year. The greatest competition McLaren had was against Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher. The Formula One World Championship ended with Mika winning the Drivers Championship and McLaren-Mercedes winning the Constructors Championship. The year was huge in a lot of ways for the winners as it brought back the good old winning days to McLaren.

Read More
Leclerc Wins Again

Leclerc Wins Again

Chinese Virtual Grand Prix Highlights: Leclerc Wins Again Chinese Virtual Grand Prix was the best of all the F1 esports events on the calendar in

Le Mans vs F1

Is F1 Better Than 24 Hours of Le Mans?

Where F1 tests endurance over an entire year, Le Mans tests drivers’ grit around the clock. Both racing formats are pretty old but age has

A Tribute to Sir Stirling Moss

A Tribute to Sir Stirling Moss

Few people have made an impact in sports like Sir Stirling Moss. On 12 April, 2020, he laid in peace for generations to remember his